He Lived Hard, Died Young, and Was a Writer of World Experiences

Jack London has some lessons for us, but not all are good

Jim Farina
5 min readSep 21, 2023
“Snarklogof00londrich 0004 cropped Jack London” by Cbigorgne is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

I believe that when I am dead, I am dead. I think that with my death, I am just as much obliterated as the last mosquito you and I squashed.

Jack London (born John Griffith Chaney; January 12, 1876 — November 22, 1916). Though London died at 40, his cumulative life experiences far surpass those of most men who’ve lived twice as long, even at three times that span, most men could not pack in all the adventure and experience as Jack London had in those 40 years.

What comes to mind at the mention of Jack London? Most would say he was a great American fiction writer known for enduring works such as Call of the Wild, White Fang, and The Sea Wolf. And they’d be correct, but Jack London was so much more.

These dog stories, based at the same time and location as that of the Klondike Gold Rush, are essentially works of fiction. In truth, London could write such vivid accounts of these people and places because he was there to live them. He experienced the frozen, dreary, brutal landscape firsthand.

--

--