SATIRE

I Discovered My Friends Wait Until I Leave the Room and Do a Communal Shot Without Me

Is this a sneaky snub or a gesture of care and concern?

Jim Farina
6 min readAug 16, 2022

--

"Whiskey Shots" by Kirti Poddar is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

I recently discovered that a couple of friends of mine did shots while I stepped away to take a leak. It was only 3 of us too, which made it odder. We were hanging out late at the office, bumping a robust Bluetooth speaker to a respectable indie playlist I'd just proudly unleashed.

We had some great conversations about music concerts, movies, and all things pop culture while enjoying some happy hour beverages. I already missed three trains to the burbs from our downtown Chicago office.

I'm okay with missing a few more trains at this point. I was having a great time with the guys. Isn't a round of shots among close buddies a representation of fellowship and brotherhood? I always thought of it as a communal expression of common kinship. Being excluded from a trio or any size group makes me feel like an outsider.

I recall once arriving late to our office cafe space for a small happy hour with another friend and co-worker. For a giggle, somebody cordoned off a section of the space to create the appearance of a VIP lounge. I know it was a playful joke, but seeing the group on the inside laughing at us…

--

--